Bernardo Velázquez, CEO of Acerinox, awarded the Javier Benjumea Prize by ICAI's Institute of Engineers in its 21st edition

ICAI's Association and Institute of Engineers has awarded Bernardo Velázquez, Chief Executive Officer of Acerinox, the Javier Benjumea Prize in recognition of his professional career and services rendered to the institution.  

The award, that Velázquez received last Saturday in the Aula Magna of the Universidad Pontifica de Comillas, gives annual recognition to an engineer trained in this prestigious institution.

The Board of Directors and members of the Association who made the award, supported the candidacy of Bernardo Velázquez, stressing that "he has played a significant and important role in the exercise of the profession, and has also established a public profile, both nationally and internationally." In addition, they wished to highlight that "during his professional career, he has carried out professional activity of unquestionable merit", and has also "always been close and available to the Association, the Institute and the School of Engineering".

In his speech, Velazquez stressed "the quality of the values inculcated by this School, their standard of education" and his sense of pride in running a company, Acerinox, "which started its internationalisation process almost from the moment it was founded, 45 years ago, and which now has four factories in four continents, companies in 50 countries and customers in more than 80."

Bernardo Velázquez, an ICAI engineer since 1990, is CEO of Acerinox and, since he joined the General Department of the company in 1990, he has progressively assumed positions of greater responsibility within the company, and has now accumulated more than 25 years’ experience in the international stainless steel business.  

The Javier Benjumea Prize has given recognition to renowned figures and leaders in the private sector in recent years. In addition to the current Chairman of Acerinox, Rafael Miranda (in the 2000 edition) as Chief Executive Officer of Endesa, the award has been granted to professionals of the stature of Amparo Moraleda as Chairman of IBM in Spain and Portugal, Fernando Conte as Chairman of Iberia, Bernardo Villazán as Chairman of Lucent Technologies, Javier López Bartolomé as Chairman of Wincor Nixdorf International, Manuel Sánchez Ortega as Chairman of TELVENT, and José Damián Bogas as Director General of Business for Spain and Portugal at Endesa, among others.