Acerinox's Chief Executive Officer, elected Chairman of the World Association of Stainless Steel Manufacturers

The ISSF (International Stainless Steel Forum) appoints Bernardo Velázquez at its annual meeting

Bernardo Velazquez 9
Bernardo Velázquez, new Chairman of the International Stainless Steel Forum

Bernardo Velázquez, Acerinox's CEO, has been elected Chairman of the ISSF (International Stainless Steel Forum) for a period of two years (2019-2021). 

Velázquez, who, until this appointment, held the position of Vice-Chairman and served as a member of the Board, accepted the new position, declaring that “it's an honour for both me and for Acerinox and we'll continue working on behalf of a highly competitive and exhilarating sector, to which I've devoted my entire professional career, and promoting stainless steel, a material for the future.”

The ISSF, founded in 1986, is the world association of stainless steel manufacturers that represents the major producers. Its aims are to represent the sector in its dealings with international organisations, to defend its common interests, to promote the consumption of stainless steel, and to draw up studies and statistics.

The new ISSF Chairman, Acerinox's CEO since 2010, graduated in Industrial Engineering at the ICAI, the university which awarded him the Javier Benjumea Award in 2015.

He will combine this new international role with the positions he currently holds as Chairman of the UNESID (Association of Steel Producers and Primary Steel Processors in Spain) and Board Member of World Steel (World Association of Steel Manufacturers).

Bernardo Velázquez has worked for almost 30 years in the international stainless steel industry, since joining Acerinox in 1990, where he has held several positions of responsibility.  On his return to Spain, after his experience in Mexico and Australia, he held the positions of Assistant General Director, Systems Manager and Strategy Manager in 2005. In 2007, he was appointed Managing Director, a position he held until his appointment as Chief Executive Officer in 2010.